Half Stars in Book Reviews – Thoughts??

Image

 

I thought I was doing a nice thing by rating books using 1/2 stars but maybe not?  It seems as though some book review blogs use them but none of the big sites do – Amazon, Goodreads, B&N etc.  So, when I post my review on my blog and give the book 4.5/5 stars and then I post my review on Amazon or another site I have to either give it 4 or 5 stars.  I think it skews the review process as I always tend to bump up the review.  For example, if I give a book 4.5/5 stars then I bump it up to 5 stars on other review sites and if I give a book 3.5/5 stars I bump it up to 4.  Does anyone else have an opinion? Any fellow bloggers want to weigh in??  Thank you for the input!!

Image

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Half Stars in Book Reviews – Thoughts??

  1. I dish out half stars and just round them up on sites like Goodreads and Amazon. I think that as long as the review itself gives reasons for your particular rating it’s not hugely important whether you rated it at 4.5 or 5, or 3.5 or 4, it just gives you the option for a bit more nuance.

  2. Stephanie Wilkinson

    Jamie McGuire

  3. Stephanie Wilkinson

    is my favorite author =)

Leave a Reply

